Son by Lois Lowry

I’m back from vacation everyone!

Okay, so you know how I listed a ton of books a few posts back, and said I was going to read them on vacation? Well, I kind of didn’t read all of them. I was actually really disappointed in many of the books I had on my Nook that were “vacation books”, and I had to buy some new ones by the end because I couldn’t bring myself to finish some of them. I’m still debating whether I should review the books I read and didn’t really like, but you also have to keep in mind that I couldn’t even get through the introduction for one book, and I was around page 50 on the other one and had to stop because I was bored out of my mind. So I won’t be reviewing those two because it wouldn’t be fair, as I didn’t read the entire thing. Sorry to disappoint you!

But, trust me, this book was anything but disappointing.

If you like: The Giver, Gathering BlueMessenger, anything by Lois Lowry, fantasy worlds, other societies, growing as a person, love, and friendship, you will like this book.

Claire was chosen when she was 12 to become a Birthmother, destined to produced three “Products” before being assigned a role elsewhere in society. Claire carried her first product when she was just 14, but something went wrong with the delivery of the product, and Claire is told she is no longer a Birthmother. She is sent to work at the Fish Hatchery, but every day she longs for the Product that she delivered. She discovers that she had given birth to a son, and is able to spend time with him secretly by volunteering at the Nursery. There, Claire discovers her son, labeled “Product 36”, is failing to thrive, and is being cared for more closely by a family in the community. Soon, something happens that affects both Claire and her son, and Claire knows she must find a way to him before it’s too late.

For one thing, I am IN LOVE with The Giver. It is honestly one of my favorite books of all time, ever, for the rest of eternity. If you have never read it, you need to stop what you’re doing, and immediately read this book. Second, Gathering Blue and Messenger are flipping fantastic as well, and you might as well just take a personal day because you need to read those, too. And once you’ve finished those three, you can move on to Son and just die at the perfect ending to this series. I mean really, Lois Lowry, you’re killing me with awesomeness. This was my first vacation book, and it is one of the few to not disappoint me in any way. At one point about halfway through the first part, I made a connection to The Giver and just couldn’t get over it. It made me just want to read all four of these books forever. So, give me a good reason as to why you aren’t getting in your car and driving to the closest bookstore/library or picking up your e-reader to get these books.

Pages: 393
Genre: Young Adult, Fiction, Fantasy, Drama
Sequel?: No, but just in case you didn’t catch it earlier, it is the last book in a series, preceded by The Giver, Gathering Blue, and Messenger!

P.S. Random story time! Once upon a time, when I was in the 8th grade, I participated in the Hi-Q, which, if you haven’t heard of it, is basically an intelligence competition that asks questions about math, science, music, literature, and more. The high school version is way more intense than what I participated in, which was just for fun and intense competition and bragging rights. Anyway, I participated in “pop culture day” with three other people on my team in school, and because I have reflexes like road-kill, I could never hit the buzzer fast enough to answer the questions I knew the answers to. Fortunately, there was a boy on my team who would smack the buzzer for every question regardless of whether he knew the answer (typical boy). One question he spazzed out on was “Who is the author of the award-winning book, The Giver?” As he sat there staring blankly at the teacher asking the questions, I managed to grab the mic and say “LOIS LOWRY!”. We got the point, my team cheered for me, I felt awesome, and we ended up winning the Hi-Q. The moral of this story is: reading a lot means you have better chances of winning competitions and having bragging rights until you die. The end.

1 Comment

  1. I LOVED Son and it was so great knowing more about the world Jonas grew up in and seeing the parallel stories. Messenger was wonderful too–definitely one of my favorites. If only she would now write what Jonas’s world was like after he left. I would love to see what happened and how that world progressed with all the memories. Great post!

Tell me what you think!

