The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Sorry about the lack of posts recently, everyone! I am the world’s biggest procrastinator, so I put off all my summer English reading until the last couple of weeks ūüôā So I’ve been working on reading three books in two weeks, which wouldn’t be a big deal if they were good books, but they are all pretty bad so its been rough. I won’t torture you with reviews of¬†Beowulf and¬†Timeline¬†though. I just figured I’d give you this one because it’s a YA book.

PAYA 2012 was this past Saturday! There wasn’t a hurricane (although my mom and I did fall into a muddy sinkhole before the festival, but that’s another story for another day), so a lot more people/authors were there from last year. I bought six books, some of which are signed, and later bought Cyn Balog’s book¬†Touched¬†at Barnes and Noble because they sold out at the festival! It was really a lot of fun…I don’t think I won any raffles because they probably would have called by now, but it was really great. I gave out some cards with my blog address on them, so if you are one of the people who was given a card and are now checking out my blog, WELCOME AND I LOVE YOU! I also learned that Kenneth Oppel (in case you still don’t know who that is — he wrote the lovely books I just reviewed that contain the quote this blog is named with) is going to be only half an hour away at an event in October. I know what I’m doing that day…

So this book is one of the above mentioned summer reading disasters. I know a lot of people enjoyed this book because of its dystopian-esque qualities, but if you really loved this as a dystopian, please read¬†Divergent, Insurgent, the¬†Delirium series by Lauren Oliver, or any number of excellent dystopian books. They will blow your mind. My school tries to get everyone to bond¬†by making everyone read one book that’s the same over the summer. They call it “One Book One School” (OBOS) and everyone hates it (probably because two out of the three years they’ve been doing this, they’ve picked awful books that 95% of the school doesn’t read). So here goes…

If you like: dystopian, drama, thrillers, science fiction, fantasy, a bunch of teenage boys together, random new slang terms, disturbing creatures, puzzles, and mazes, you will like this book.

Thomas wakes up in an elevator in the middle of what is called “The Glade” with no memory of his life before. He joins a group of many other teenage boys, all of which were delivered by the elevator, called the Box, and have been trying for years to find a way out through The Maze. The Maze surrounds the Glade, and is home to disturbing, violent, dangerous creatures called “Grievers”. Runners go out every day to try to find a way out of the Maze, but having been working for years with no success. After Thomas survives a night in the Maze (which no one has done before), he becomes a Runner. Then the Box delivers someone else: a girl, who is holding a note saying that she is the last one. And then the Grievers enter the Glade…

It was honestly hard to write a non-confusing review for this book. I don’t think I succeeded. I spent the first 50 pages of this book trying to get all the lingo and terminology straight. The author literally drops you into this world, tosses a bunch of random words at you, and doesn’t bother to explain most of them. Once you get past what is pretty much a language barrier, it gets less confusing, but more disturbing. The Grievers are seriously horrifying, and what they do to some of the characters could make you sick. Some other people I know seemed to like this book, but I was honestly creeped out by it. It’s apparently part of a series and it ended on a cliffhanger, but I really have no desire to read the other books (you know it’s a big deal when I don’t want to read the sequel). But I’ll let you make up your own minds.

Pages: 400
Genre: Young Adult, Drama, Dystopian, Thriller, Fantasy
Sequel?: Yes —¬†The Scorch Trials,¬†The Death Cure, and then a prequel,¬†The Kill Order

Tell me what you think!

