The Princess Bride by William Goldman

Wow, you guys are amazing!! I asked you for 6 views and you gave me 22 on Monday and 6 yesterday! I had well over 100 views for the month of July (I actually had 120!!! So exciting!) Thank you for going above and beyond and letting me accomplish my goal for the month of July! Let’s keep it up!! 😉 You are all the best and I love you!

I don’t know how old I was the first time I saw “The Princess Bride”, but I remember I loved it right away. It had everything: books (which I have loved since I first read Go Dog, Go when I was however many years old), princesses, pretty dresses, love, and some pretty awesome sword fighting. Who can say that they wouldn’t like that?! I’ve known for years that the movie was based on the book, but never got around to read it. When my mom told me she had bought it on her Nook, and that I could read it too, I was super excited. Book that led to awesome movie that I love and never get tired of? BRING IT.

If you like: drama, romance, adventure, stories set hundreds of years ago, sword fighting, giants, the word INCONCEIVABLE!, Sicilians, Spaniards, beauty, evil princes, six-fingered men (that sounds even more weird in the context of what I’m writing when you say it out loud. Don’t believe me? Try it…), R.O.U.S.’, and unlikely endings, you will like this book.

Buttercup lives with her parents and the farm boy, Westley, on a Renaissance-era milk farm. Buttercup spends most of her time shouting commands at the farm boy, who always goes about the tasks she has given him, after saying “As you wish”. When Buttercup gets older, she realizes that she is in love with Westley, and he confesses his love for her as well. Westley decides to sail off to make his fortune so that they can get married, but word soon comes to Buttercup that he has been captured by the Dread Pirate Roberts, who is notorious for leaving no survivors. Buttercup is devastated, and vows to never love again. When Prince Humperdinck arrives at the milk farm, looking for a beautiful woman to choose as his wife so he, someday, may have an heir to run the country of Florin, he spots Buttercup, whose suffering as made her into the most beautiful woman in the world. She agrees to marry him, though not love him, and is taken to his castle. While out horseback riding, she is kidnapped by a Sicilian, a Spaniard, and a giant, and the adventure only continues to build from there. Will she find Westley again and will they live happily ever after? Or will she be killed?

“You keep using that word! I do not think it means what you think it means!” — My man, Inigo Montoya

The world’s most quotable book/movie. Seriously, if you have never seen the movie/read the book and someone you know keeps saying the above line, “As you wish”, or “My name is Inigo Montoya, you killed my father, prepare to die”, you are embarrassing yourself by not having an appropriate quote response (“Never go up against a Sicilian when death is on the line!”). I loved this book, but be warned: S. Morgenstern doesn’t really exist, which I stupidly didn’t know. William Goldman, the author, uses the pen name S. Morgenstern for this book. So all the “asides” he wrote in the book talking about what he cut out: not true. The stuff he “cut out of Morgenstern’s original manuscript” doesn’t exist because the book you are reading IS the original manuscript. It is somewhat confusing, but you’ll figure it out. I loved the book, it’s amazing, and someday I will read it to my kids when they are sick (AND THEY WILL LIKE IT!). It’s an all-time classic book/movie, and you should read the book AND see the movie, because the movie does stay true to the book. Also, its fun being able to identify direct quotes from the book to the movie. Enjoy! I certainly did!

Pages: 493
Genre: Fantasy, Drama, Romance, Adventure
Sequel?: No, but William Goldman did write a lot more, and is an Academy Award winning screenwriter.

Check out my Goodreads page and add me as a friend!

Tell me what you think!

