Secret Society by Tom Dolby

This is a random judge a book by its cover purchase from Barnes and Noble. I think I bought it before I went to Turks and Caicos in November, but I honestly have no idea. Sorry about the lack of a post yesterday: I had work and then a friend of mine that I haven’t seen in forever came over and we ate too much candy and watched movies. This week I’m probably only going to have two posts: one today and one on Thursday, because I have been reading Jane Eyre, which is a whopper of a book and is the kind of book that needs your full attention, so I can’t read another book at the same time. But I’ll see if I can squeeze in three posts because I love you guys so much 🙂

If you like: drama, romance, New York City, secrets, clubs, partying, danger, beauty, fashion, or tattoos, you will like this book.

In New York City, four teenagers lives are about to change forever, whether they like it or not. Nick is an aspiring club manager, Lauren is obsessed with the latest fashions, and Phoebe, the new girl in town, has her art. Patch, Nick’s best friend, lives in the others shadows, hoping to be able to catch some drama with his video camera. When Nick, Lauren, and Phoebe receive a mysterious text inviting them to join the Society, a mysterious, incredibly secret society that has the power to make all their wishes come true, they accept. Soon, they are introduced to a world of partying, insider connection, and gifts, and are linked together with hundreds of others by the ankh tattoo they all have on the back of their necks. Patch, who was not invited, manages to film one of the Society’s parties, with consequences that are more extreme than he could ever imagine. When some of them try to leave the Society, they discover that leaving may not be possible, and that the Society has the power to control their lives forever.

So this is the third book (I think) that I liked better the first time I read it. The first time, it seemed very interesting and mysterious, but the second time through, I knew what was going to happen, so I spent more time focusing on how pretentious the characters are while reading. Nick isn’t bad, but Lauren is shown as overly materialistic, and in the second chapter, buys skirt that costs nine hundred dollars, and has no problem with putting it on her mother’s credit card. Phoebe seems perpetually moody and dramatic, and Patch just irritated me from his first introduction. Additionally, the point of view changes from character to character frequently within each chapter, making it confusing to follow. I wish that I could love all books that I read, but I don’t think I’ll be reading this one again. But I’ll let you decide for yourself.

Pages: 341
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Drama, Mystery, Thriller
Sequel?: Yes; The Trust has already been released

Tell me what you think!

