Dangerous Neighbors by Beth Kephart

My last PAYA Festival 2011 book 😦 I’m glad I only have a couple of weeks until I can buy a ton more books!!

If you like: historical fiction, Philadelphia, drama, siblings, a little bit of romance, the Centennial fair of 1876, and twins, you will like this book.

Katherine and Anna had a bond like no other siblings had. They were identical twins, though Anna somehow seemed to be the prettier of the two. As the girls became teenagers, Katherine felt like she was falling out-of-place in her sister’s life, once Anna met Bennett, the baker’s son, and fell in love. Katherine felt alone, unloved, and was annoyed at how her sister took advantage of her, constantly making Katherine lie to their parent’s about Bennett. But when Anna dies, Katherine is destroyed. She can barely go on living, and plans to take her own life. Or can she find a way to be at peace with her sister, and move past her untimely death?

This is a good historical fiction book. It takes place during the hectic Centennial celebration in Philadelphia in 1876, and will definitely pull in history buffs (like me). The only thing that I didn’t like about the book was the character of Anna. She seemed selfish, and definitely gave off the air that she was better than Katherine. The tone of the book hints that Anna is supposed to be that way for the plot to progress in the way that it does, but she still annoyed me. A couple of times, I was honestly just wanting to banish her from the book. She was a little whiny. But anyway, with the exception of Anna, I loved the book! It was cute, dramatic, and had really solid characters, with just a touch of romance in the end.

Pages: 166
Genre: Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Drama
Sequel?: No, but Beth Kephart has a bunch of other books you can check out here.

*ON AN UNRELATED NOTE: Susane Colasanti has but a link to my blog on hers. I’m dying. Dying. This is one of the greatest things that has ever happened to me, and I just want to thank everyone for reading, Cyn Balog for liking my posts, and Susane Colasanti for linking to my blog. You are all the best and I love you!

In case you can’t read it (which I’m guessing you can’t), it says: “For Megan– So very happy that you braved the storm today. Beth Kephart” I’m glad I braved the storm, too! Best day ever!

Tell me what you think!

