Tunnel Vision by Susan Shaw

Second to last PAYA Festival book! And an announcement: I may have to start doing reviews three days a week instead of five. I have two incredibly boring fun-sucking books to read for school, one that may not be too soul-sucking, a Calculus math packet created by Satan himself, and I’m working five days a week minimum. As much as I would totally love to post five reviews a week, I don’t think it’s physically possible for me to do so right now. My brain will explode, and I won’t get to attend the PAYA Festival in August, or go to three Phillies games (I know, they are embarrassing the city of Philadelphia right now, but it will get better… Right?) which would really be a downer. Don’t hate me too much! I still love all of you!

If you like: drama, thrillers, escaping, cop dramas and stuff like that, Witness Protection Program, new identities, and starting a new life, you will like this book.

Liza was just trying to get home by walking through a crowded underpass when her life changed forever. Her mother was shot and killed, and the police believe that her mother’s killers were actually aiming for Liza. After she is almost killed a few days later on her front lawn, Liza and her dad are put into the Witness Protection Program to escape the Core, the gang that is trying to kill her. Liza’s life has fallen apart: her mother is gone, Liza isn’t allowed to attend her funeral, and now they are being protected by the FBI! After being sent to live in Kansas, Liza has to accept her new identity, and try to fit into her new life. But how is she supposed to do that when the Core seems to be around ever corner, waiting for her?

This book isn’t my favorite of all time. Liza is supposed to be a high school student, but her thoughts make her sound like a middle schooler. Her thoughts are also very hard to follow, and random. I understand that her mother just died, but her thoughts are literally all over the place. I solidified this point when, in the book, Liza and her dad realize they are being relocated to Kansas, Liza goes on this rant about how Kansas was “not a real place” and then continued on some internal musing that was a little annoying. It’s an okay book, that I think I liked better the first time I read it, but I can’t honestly say that I was in love with it. But I’ll let you be the judge of that!

Pages: 255
Genre: Young Adult, Drama, Thriller
Sequel?: No

Tell me what you think!

