Starstruck by Cyn Balog

Is anyone surprised to learn that I am re-reading all of the books I bought at last year’s PAYA Festival in the hopes that I can tell some of the returning authors that I reviewed their books at this years PAYA Festival? No? Me neither. It’s not like it’s some huge chore (infinitely better than laundry!!); IN FACT, it’s turning into the best summer ever, and I’m such a weenie for saying that. On to the review (and the next five or so will be additional PAYA Festival flashbacks!)…

If you like: stars, romance, drama, fantasy, New Jersey (the beaches! Not the round-a-bouts!), bakeries, long-lost love, transformations, freaky weather, sarcasm and telling jokes to deal with problems, and growing as a person, you will like this book.

Gwendolyn, also called “Dough”, also called “Gwen”, thinks her life is pretty awful. She weighs something to the tune of 234 pounds, everyone at school bullies her, and she lives in a rundown apartment above the family bakery while her classmates live in mega-mansions. Her life has never seemed as awful as it does when her best friend, and long-distance boyfriend, Wish, moves back from California. Gwen is panicked that he will notice how she has changed in the three years since he moved away, but when he first sees her, he doesn’t seem phased. But Gwen (and every other girl in school) have noticed that Wish is, frankly, HOT. But he only has eyes for Gwen. Gwen, as his best friend/girlfriend, has noticed that Wish has changed in other ways, too. He directs the mirrors in his truck so that the sun light is pointed directly into his eyes, he only wears black, long-sleeved button downs even when it’s hot, and he can’t stand the rain. Gwen tries not to be concerned, but the new employee at her bakery, Christian, is convinced that Wish is a member of an ancient cult called Luminati, who were obsessed with the stars and let them control their lives. Wish is also apparently responsible for the illness that has plagued a classmate and Gwen’s beautiful little sister, Evie, and the horrible weather. Gwen now has to find a way to get Wish to confess to belonging to the cult, and find a way to stop him before it’s too late.

CYN BALOG IS AWESOME. I think I have said that in every post, but it really just reiterates what I’m trying to tell you guys: read her books! They’re cute, sweet, and funny, and you will love every second! Gwen, like all of Mrs. Balog’s female protagonists, is incredibly sarcastic, which I love. For those of you that know me in real life (which I don’t think is anyone, but maybe someday I will know you guys! And anyway, you probably already know this from my posts), I am incredibly sarcastic 24/7, 365 days a year. So reading a sarcastic character is a blast for me. And it will be for you!

Pages: 244
Genre: Young Adult, Drama, Romance, Fantasy
Sequel?: No, but read Fairy Tale and Sleepless by Cyn Balog!

I’m very excited about the fact that I own books that have been signed.

4 Comments

  1. Cyn Balog

    Hi, Megan! My friend sent me a link to your awesome blog and I just read your reviews and want to thank you from the bottom of my heart! I am so glad you liked my books!!! It means so much to me. And I can’t wait to see you again at PAYA this year!! Never-ending XOXOXOXOXOXOXO’s, Cyn

Trackbacks

  1. Fairy Tale by Cyn Balog « goodthingtheworldisround
  2. Touched by Cyn Balog « goodthingtheworldisround
  3. [I'm back!] Drowned by Cyn Balog | goodthingtheworldisround

Tell me what you think!

