The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams

I read the first ten pages or so of this book’s free sample, and when I saw [end sample] at the end, I seriously rolled my eyes at my Nook, then proceeded to buy the book. I’m not quite sure what exactly it is about it, but the main character and the plot just hook you and if you’re like me, you feel trapped in a book. It’s a vortex book (which sounds much more awesome when you kind of whisper it out loud. It sounds mysterious) — it sucked you in. It was one of my vacation books, and let me tell you: the Nook app for the iPhone is HANDY. I was reading this book on tram cars, in line for “Tower of Terror”, while waiting for my family to wake up so we could go to dinner…etc.

If you like: other cultures, nonconformity, resisting unfair government/leaders, drama, a little bit of romance, and family, you will like this book.

Thirteen-year-old Kyra has grown up in an extremely isolated Polygamist community ruled by religious leaders, who dictate what people can read, listen to, and whether or not they can leave the compound. Kyra’s birth mother, Mother Sarah, is one of three of her father’s wives, along with Mother Victoria, and Mother Claire. Between the three of them, there are 21 children living in three adjacent homes, with two on the way.When the leader of the compound, the “Prophet” says that Kyra will become her Uncle Hyrum’s seventh wife, Kyra begins to doubt her family’s ways of living. Was she being punished for reading “inappropriate” books from the Ironton County Mobile Library on Wheels, driven by Patrick, who genuinely cares for her well-being? Or was it for loving Joshua, a boy who is her own age, and wants to marry her someday. Hyrum is her father’s brother, and is old, not to mention somewhat cruel to his wives. Kyra has to make a choice: live a life she doesn’t want, or leave the compound and never see her family again.

I have to admit when I first put it together that Kyra’s family practiced polygamy, I was surprised. But the book turned out being way better than I expected. I’m not any kind of expert on polygamist communities, so it was a little bit of learning, and a bit of enjoyment. Kyra is a really strong character, especially for being thirteen, and goes through what a majority of people will never experience in their lifetime. It was seriously interesting to see her grow and change as a character, as her beliefs and values change. So with that, I would recommend it!

Pages: 240
Genre: Drama, Young Adult
Sequel?: No

2 Comments

  1. great post

    • Thank you! I hope you continue to read the blog, and spread the word about it. Thank you so much for reading!!

Tell me what you think!

