Insurgent by Veronica Roth

As I mentioned on my Divergent review, I preordered Insurgent as soon as I possibly could, and then had to wait for months until May 1, when it was released. But then, it wasn’t downloading onto my Nook, so I almost went to Barnes and Noble to buy a hard copy because I couldn’t wait any longer. Finally, it uploaded!! So here we go!

SPOILER WARNING!: I will try my hardest to not give away the key plot points of Divergent, but it’s inevitable for some things. Sorry about that!

If you like: The Hunger Games series, dystopian novels, thrillers, action, DivergentThe Host, romance, science fiction, Chicago, the future, surprises, butt-kicking, the Matched series, or anything similar, you will like this book.

Insurgent picks up right where Divergent left off: with Tris, Tobias, Marcus, Caleb, and Peter on a train to the Amity compound, away from the horrors that they have just witnessed during the slaughter of Abnegation. A war is beginning, and no faction is completely safe. After escaping near death after an attack at the Amity compound, Tris, Tobias, and their fellow loyal Dauntless find themselves at the Candor compound, trying to piece together their lives again. Jeanine Matthews is trying to develop a simulation serum that will leave even the Divergent at her mercy, yet many fear the Divergent and are wary about coming to their aid. Plus, the factionless are taking part in the war, eager to bring down the factions that shunned them and ignored them for years. After countless attacks, which side will each faction choose? And who will come out victorious?

Heart palpitations. I am passionately in love with this series. Which is probably why I was pulling my hair out at the enormous cliffhanger at the end, especially because the third book in the trilogy is reportedly being released in 2013. I can’t wait that long! I may be in college by the time it comes out, and who knows when I’ll have time to read. This is a nerd problem that I have repeatedly suffered with (prime example: Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver. Trust me, I’ll be reviewing that series soon.) Besides the cliffhanger, this book is excellent, with just the right combination of romance, action, thrills, and butt-kicking ALL OVER dystopian Chicago. I would definitely call this one of my favorite book series of all time (right up there with Harry PotterDelirium, and The Hunger Games). I would highly suggest it!

Pages: 544
Genre: Science fiction, young adult, dystopian
Sequel?: Yes; hopefully released sometime in 2013; in the meantime, you can read the first book in the series: Divergent by Veronica Roth

“‘Insurgent,’ he says. ‘Noun. A person who acts in opposition to the established authority, who is not necessarily regarded as a belligerent.'” – Fernando, Insurgent, on or around page 497

Tell me what you think!

