Fairy Tale by Cyn Balog

Last summer I went to a book fair thing that was close to my house and there were a bunch of YA authors there who were signing their books that were for sale there. I somehow made my way to this book fair in the middle of Hurricane Irene and got Cyn Balog, along with a bunch of other authors, to sign her books for me! It was pretty awesome, and the fact that my mom works with Mrs. Balog’s husband is pretty cool, too. So on to the book:

If you like: fantasy, comedy, romance, drama, fairies, other books by Cyn Balog, psychics, or magic, you’ll like this book.

Fairy Tale tells the story of soon-to-be-sixteen Morgan Sparks and her football player boyfriend/neighbor, Cam Browne. Considering they were both born on October 15, Morgan and Cam have been inseparable since birth. However, Morgan and Cam’s life is altered forever when Cam finds out that he is fairy from a place called Otherworld, and is destined to return to take his  place as heir to the kingdom on his sixteenth birthday and marry Dawn, who has already attacked Morgan and isn’t afraid to do so again. Morgan so does not want this to happen, so with the help of Pip, who is actually the Browne’s son and was switched with Cam at birth and taken to Otherworld, she hopes to come up with a plan to keep Cam on Earth with her. But who knows what will actually happen…

I would just like to say that Morgan is a hilarious character. She is the queen of the one-liner that makes you laugh out loud, and her internal dialogue is excellent. For example, when Morgan discovers something going on with Cameron, she thinks, “What is the word for bad to the nineteenth power? Hideous times a million? Even ‘the most atrocious thing I’ve ever seen’ seems to miss the mark.” (pg. 45) I honestly laughed out loud when I read that line, causing all nearby to look at me like I need to be committed ASAP. And trust me, that’s not the only time that happened in this book. It’s not all comedy, however. I found myself genuinely feeling sorry for Morgan, Cam, and Pip as the story progressed. And having a good love story in a book never hurt anyone! (Unless you hate love, in which case, I’m sorry about your life) So seriously, go to your local Barnes and Noble/library/bookstore/friend who is like me and pretty much has a library in her house/Amazon.com and buy this book, and you will definitely not regret it!

Pages: 248
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Sequel?: No, but there are other Cyn Balog books that are equally as good! Check out: Sleepless and Starstruck (both of which will be reviewed by me in the future)

 She signed my book! How cool is that?!

6 Comments

  1. emv10

    Great review, Megan! Thanks!

  2. emv10

    Great review, Megan!! You give a great sense of the book! Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Sleepless by Cyn Balog « goodthingtheworldisround
  2. Starstruck by Cyn Balog « goodthingtheworldisround
  3. Touched by Cyn Balog « goodthingtheworldisround
  4. [I'm back!] Drowned by Cyn Balog | goodthingtheworldisround

Tell me what you think!

